Capital of Japan

Tokyo , officially Tokyo Metropolis , is one of the 47 prefectures of Japan. It has served as the Japanese capital since 1869, serving as the seat of the Emperor of Japan as well as the Japanese government. Tokyo forms part of the Kantō region on the southeastern side of Japan's main island, Honshu, and includes the Izu Islands and Ogasawara Islands. Tokyo was formerly named Edo when Shōgun Tokugawa Ieyasu made the city his headquarters in 1603. It became the capital after Emperor Meiji moved his seat to the city from Kyoto in 1868; at that time Edo was renamed Tokyo. The Tokyo Metropolis formed in 1943 from the merger of the former Tokyo Prefecture and the city of Tokyo . Tokyo is often referred to as a city but is officially known and governed as a "metropolitan prefecture", which differs from and combines elements of a city and a prefecture, a characteristic unique to Tokyo.

Tokyo News and Videos   LIVE

ℹ️ This is a LIVE page which updates automatically as we're monitoring our hand-curated selection of verified and trustworthy media outlets

Tokyo's Haneda airport was grappling with a water supply cutoff at one of its terminals on Thursday, with passengers washing their hands with bottled water and..
Credit: Reuters - Published 5 days ago

CBS News Asia Correspondent Ben Tracy joins Face the Nation from Tokyo to discuss North Korea's first nuclear test in six years.
Credit: CBS News - Published 6 days ago

You might like