National Health Service

Public healthcare providers in the United Kingdom

The National Health Service (NHS) is the publicly-funded healthcare system of the United Kingdom. Since 1948 it has been funded out of general taxation. It is made up of four separate systems that serve each part of the UK: The National Health Service in England, NHS Scotland, NHS Wales, and Health and Social Care in Northern Ireland. They were established together in 1948 as one of the major social reforms following the Second World War. The founding principles were that services should be comprehensive, universal and free at the point of delivery. Each service provides a comprehensive range of health services, free at the point of use for people ordinarily resident in the United Kingdom, apart from dental treatment and optical care. In England, NHS patients have to pay prescription charges with a range of exemptions from these charges.

National Health Service News and Videos   LIVE

ℹ️ This is a LIVE page which updates automatically as we're monitoring our hand-curated selection of verified and trustworthy media outlets

The former engineering unit of the Williams F1 team said it will help produce an initial batch of 5,000 ventilators for Britain's National Health Service as part..
Credit: Reuters - Published 5 days ago

A further 159 people who tested positive for coronavirus have died in England, the National Health Service said on Monday, taking the total number of confirmed..
Credit: Reuters - Published 1 week ago

You might like